My Movie Genre Prompt from Bloggymoms








I remember the place: My Oma’s house, in Germany. My parents and I are visiting with Oma, our bellies are full and we’re ready to relax for the evening. I’m young, probably haven’t even hit the double digits of my years yet. I’m on the floor, getting ready to watch some German TV. without commercials! Yes!


The movie is black and white. I sat mesmerized by the entire movie. I know at one point I was thinking, “I wish there was a commercial. I have to go to the bathroom but I don’t want to miss anything.” I didn’t fully understand the entire movie and I was a little confused at the end when Norman was still talking in his mother’s voice after he was arrested. But what a movie!


And that is what started my lifelong love of horror movies!


The next movie which stands out in my mind is Jaws. I don’t know if that qualifies as a horror movie but in my young mind, it was scary. The setting for this movie: My parents and I are going to see a movie. Yay! We pay for the tickets, get our snacks and drinks and make our way to the seats. I choose to sit by myself one row ahead of my parents. My parents ask me if I’m sure about sitting by myself. Yep, I’m old enough. What’s to be scared about? Again, I’m mesmerized at what plays out on the big screen. I did good until the scene where the head pops out of the boat. I jump, I scream. I’m terrified. I loved it. And I had nightmares that night. I remember my mom coming into my room later that night after I wake up from the nightmare. She comforts me and I go back to sleep. A little ol’ nightmare won’t stop me from watching horror movies.


I  was finally able to convince my mom and dad I’m old enough to go watch a scary movie by myself. I make sure I’m sitting in the front row so I don’t miss a thing! That night’s feature is The Manitou. OMG! I was scared out of my ever loving mind the whole time. Not even  halfway through the movie, I scan the seats, see a young couple sitting a couple of rows behind me. I half-crouch, half-walk over to them and ask if I can sit with them. I’m scared. With knowing smiles, they tell me yes. I make it through the movie. I’ve only seen that movie one other time in my life. I have tried to find it over the years so I can watch it again through the eyes of an adult and haven’t had any luck. I’ve asked people if they’ve seen it and nobody remembers it.









Fast forward to the time of The Exorcist. I can’t tell you how many times I tried to watch that movie and could never make my way through it. It scares the crap out of me. I could always make it to the point where she’s in the bed. I don’t care if I read it was pea soup really coming out of her mouth. That movie is too freaky. To make matters worse, I would occasionally baby-sit for a couple and the same weird thing always happened. The first is: No matter the amount of time in between my babysitting, The Exorcist was always playing on TV that night. It didn’t matter if it was a week night or the weekend; it was on! The second thing was, a drunk man would always call their house and try to get me to go out with him. I’m assuming it might have been a friend of theirs since he called on the nights they were gone. I never did find out who he was. After about 3 or 4 times of the same thing happening each time, I quit babysitting for them. It was too freaky for me. I was finally able to watch the whole movie about 3 years ago. And that will suit me for the rest of my days.


Those are the main movies which help start my love affair with horror movies. I love the month of October not because of Halloween and dressing up but because they play horror movies ALL month long on tons of channels. That’s what I’m talking about.



When my daughter was young, she would watch horror movies with me. I worried she’d get scared but she was a mini version of me and sat glued to the TV from start to finish. I remember being sick one time, both of us in my room. I’m dozing off from time to time. When I’d wake up, she would be sitting at the end of my bed, eyes on the TV. It was a marathon of Hellraiser. I remember asking her if she was scared watching the movie; it freaked me out a little bit. She’d shake her head, tell me no, and to shhhhh, she was watching the movie. Years later, she became afraid of watching horror movies when she tried to watch The Exorcist by herself. That ended her love for horror movies.


Some of the other movies I like are: Nightmare on Elm Street, House of Wax, Friday the 13th, and honestly, I will watch pretty much any movie they title horror. 


This is my first prompt! Yay! I had fun writing it. Come join me on Bloggy Moms!

Leave a Reply

