Looking Back on the Early Days of Blogging

It’s hard to believe just a few short months ago,
 I started blogging. 
*Sigh*      How the time has flown. 

Okay, so I’m being a little dramatic. I did just look at my archives and read the very first blog I posted. I can’t say I know a whole lot more today but I have made some strides. I am finding the world of blogging to be very fascinating. 

My mind can start off kinda simple. I learned about blogger when someone on Facebook I know would share her posts. In my mind, that’s the place you went to blog. Because you see, there are no other sites to blog on. Yep, that was my little train of thought. I debated on and off about blogging. On the one hand, I’m a pretty private person. I work in a field where I have to keep my privacy so I don’t endanger my family or friends. On the other hand, I love to write. I love the feel of the social community of bloggers. 

When I finally took the step, I started expanding my little train. I came across Bloggy Moms. I became interested in a blog  and when I wanted to read more, I was faced with signing up. I debated. How many times have I signed up for something just to go there one time and never again. Getting those e-mail reminders clogs things up. Oh, what the heck. Now I faced the dilemma of having 2 blogs to maintain. *woe is me, how ever will I manage*  I really liked the set up of Bloggy Moms and thought, I’ll just blog here. Look at me, I’m a-blogging on my new blog. Uh-huh, uh-huh. I start reading more of the blogs on Bloggy Moms  and have a shut-the-door moment! Look, you can link to your main blog! Yep, the train is getting a little bigger ladies and gentleman. 

All aboard!


Then I start learning about things like wordpress, numbers, getting followers, things like that. Hmmm, sounds too complicated for this kid. Size of my train is just right. No need to stir things up with followers and stats. Sheesh, who’s worried about that? Not me!

UNTIL!

I’m looking around Bloggy Moms and I see that I’m on a list! What? Really?? I don’t blog that much. But hey, looky here!!!! I’m in the top 20! That’s me! Wow. I’m just getting started in the blogging world and already I am ranking. *time to start working on that award speech*  (insert line from Michael Jackson’s song: Who’s Bad?) Well, nothing like a stroke to the blogging ego. That’s right. That’s right. I blogged again today. Don’t be hatin’. It’s all good. And during this process, I also learned how to figure out my stats on blogger. Oh look, I had 1 page view. That’s a good sign. Yeah, yeah. I’m the beast, I tell ya!

Through it all, this has been fun learning about the various things associated with blogging. I know I have just begun to enter into the blog world. But I’m excited to see what’s out there. I am excited to see how my personality and writing style emerge as I become more comfortable with blogging. I go on so many blogs and love the flow of the words or how the blog is designed. At first, I pressured myself about what my style should be but now, I remind myself, it’s all a learning process. I’ll come across things I want to incorporate and some things won’t be my style or taste. It’s all good. 

What was it like for you when you first started blogging?


Leave a Reply

