Cleaning, Music, and Memories

I’m not sure what it is about listening to music while I clean, but it puts me in a better mood and motivates me more. I usually put on Slacker radio on my bb and get to cleaning. Yesterday the mood was to clean the kitchen. I’m on a ammonia kick right now. Of course, I wonder why when I feel I’m about to pass out from the fumes but nevertheless, it makes things seem cleaner when I use it.


Anyway, I am a big fan of Pink. I like the lyrics of her songs and the fun things she does with the music. I found a Pink station on Slacker and set to cleaning. One of the things I like about Slacker radio is that not only do I hear the Pink songs on the station, but some other good songs as well.

Cleaning and music must be therapeutic for me on some level. I find myself working out dilemmas, gaining great insight, going down the lanes of forgotten memories, and just feeling better.


Lately, I’ve been dealing with a situation in which I have felt utterly trapped and unable to solve. It’s been eating at me and I have been running it around in my mind, desperate for a solution. Then the song
“Big Girls Don’t Cry” by Fergie came on.

That took me down the lane of the days when I had the ring tone to the song for my best friend. She was going through a tough time in her life and it just seemed to fit. That lane veered off to another lane reminding me of the fun we had when she moved back after being gone for years. We would visit each other but it’s not the same as being in the same town. It made me start thinking of the good times in my life and how those times felt. 


Then it made me realize, that during my struggle for a solution, I had managed to get a handle on the fear that has been paralyzing me from not only making a decision but getting a plan together to move forward with it. 


And in that moment, I knew I’m going to be okay.  

Plus, the cabinets and the fridge in my kitchen are sparkling clean!
Leave a Reply

