Aging Shmaging!

Okay, first off, I don’t think “shmaging” is really a word but that’s what popped into my head. I’ve been coming across quite a few posts lately talking about anti-aging products and skincare. It started me thinking about my own aging process.


I find some irony in this: When I was in my childhood years, I always looked older than what I really was. It wasn’t really an issue, so to speak, but it did present some you’re-a-liar looks when my parents and I would go somewhere and they would say my age. People would sometimes act like my parents were trying to get me in somewhere for a cheaper price. For the most part, people didn’t flat out refuse. I remember one particular time when I went to the movies with a friend. We had just moved back from Germany and I’d forgotten my I.D. card. Yes, I did look older than 11 but I wasn’t. They didn’t believe us and we had to pay the adult price for me to get in. Of course, as a teen I didn’t mind looking older. It had some advantages but I won’t get into it. My daughter might read this.


Now, as I’m in my early 40’s, I hear people tell me, “You don’t look your age.” I think a lot of that has to do with I don’t act like a grown up. The childish behavior throws them off and they’re shocked to find out that I really shouldn’t be acting the way I am. Alright, not really. I’ve been lucky to have good genes passed down to me. My mom is in her 60’s and most people are shocked to find that out. She has always taken great care of her face and skin. Hell, her skin and face are in better condition than mine. I’ve managed to skate through so far without a skincare routine.

But I am starting to see the subtle signs of aging. Whether real or imagined, I see them. For the most part, I notice it more when I’m stressed. It seems to really jump out at me then. Probably what I focus on the most is the silver in my dark hair. I’ve been dealing with the occassional gray hair here and there since my 20’s. I don’t buy into the if you pull it 10 more grow back. It doesn’t stop me from yanking.



The other night, I noticed a silver hair. I had the impulse to pull. So I did. And as I yanked, I caught sight of a hair that wasn’t silver. Oh crap, I just pulled the wrong hair. (My eyes are getting worse too.) I held the hair in my fingers and started looking at it, feeling slightly confused. Huh. It was one of those odd hairs. The bottom part of the strand was my natural color and the newer growth was the silver. I found this to be hiliarious. I tried desperately to get a good picture of it but it didn’t show the contrast very well.



For the most part, getting older really isn’t bothering me as far as the aging process goes. I have my moments where I buy the products that are suppose to help but after a day or two, I lose interest in dealing with the routine. Our true beauty is a reflection of who we are on the inside. I have met some beautiful people who ruin their beauty by the ugliness inside. And I have met some people who would be called average or plain, who have the most stunning beauty due to who they are.


I guess for me, I don’t pay too much attention to getting older. There are some things I don’t like but for the most part, I’m not hung up on it. I have the days I notice more but on the whole, I just go on about my business.

Has the aging process bothered you? 
How do you deal with it?

Leave a Reply

