Missing: Looking for My Laughter

I know the world doesn’t revolve around me. I know my trials and tribulations aren’t greater than the person next to me. I know I have it worse than others in some aspects and I also know I have it better than others in different aspects. But because I am the one going through my life, I have days where it’s just damn hard to look at the glass as half-full versus half-empty. That was kinda the flavor of my week starting out.


I admit, I threw a little bit of a pity party on the first day. The whole woe is me routine was going with the balloons and streamers. The last year has been a series of events kinda knocking me on my rear. The first incident, which started the chain effect, was definitely something out of my control. I ended up on the losing end of someone else’s negligence during rush hour traffic. And then things just kinda went downhill from there.


I think it’s been the last few months of this year I stopped laughing. I mean really laughing from the heart and soul. The kind of laughter that has you doubled over and tears running down your face. And if you know anything about me, you know I truly believe laughter is the best medicine. My humor has helped me through some tough and painful times. I love to laugh. I love to make others laugh. It’s a source of happiness and a way to spread happiness.


It dawned on me a few weeks ago my laughter had all but disappeared. My daughter and I were talking about feet. I don’t know why or how the subject even came about. It was one of those moments when you’re children tell you something from their childhood you’ve forgotten about. (Mine for my parents, to this day, is when they went to Spain without ME when I was a child. I still remind them of this.) Anyway, my daughter was talking about putting lotion on my feet for me and she thought that was why she hated other people’s feet even now. She had me in stitches as she told the story of how she only did it because she usually wanted to do something and I would prolong the horrible experience for her. I had no clue this is how she felt. I laughed so hard as we were talking and then it hit me: I haven’t been laughing much.


Yesterday, I felt the urge to clean my office. I set about cleaning, dusting, watering and rearranging my plants, and vacuuming. During cleaning time, my daughter called me. I told her what I was doing and she just simply said: “It’s about time you cleaned it. It was dirty.” I paused for a moment, thinking back to the last time she’d been in my office. Surely it wasn’t that bad? And then I burst into laughter for her honesty. We talked  about it later and she said it was so good to hear me laugh like that again.






And I felt a little sadness that I had allowed the challenges of life to stress me to such extremes.


I’d become so stressed and worried about things, I’d lost one of the things I truly love about myself. My laughter. I realized there is nothing in this world worth losing laughter. Sure, times are tough and challenging but if I don’t keep laughing I’m losing so much more than it’s worth. Yesterday was a real a-ha moment for me. So onward and upward I will go with my zany sense of humor and laughter.

Does laughter play 
an important part 
in your life?
2 Responses

  1. Hey, I know what you mean and I'm glad you posted this. Sometimes I love a good pity party. I'll allow myself to wallow just for a day or so. Laughter really is the best medicine. For me, it's so hard to crack a smile if I'm feeling "pissy" or just down. As soon as I smile though, things just feel lighter for me. I'm glad I have my son to make me laugh and I'm glad that your daughter was there when you needed to find yours. 🙂 Children are the best source of laughter in my book. Especially our own.

  2. You are so right! I've noticed my outlook is better since I've really been laughing this week.

Leave a Reply

