Favorite Thing Friday Link-Up

Growing up, my mom always had a house full of beautiful plants. I never paid much attention to what my mom did to take care of the plants. I just knew she had a knack for thriving plants.


Fast forward to my teen years. My mom’s green thumb suddenly became a very brown thumb.

My mom’s plants were about as sad as the picture I found. She wanted to start over with new plants but I convinced her to let me have a go at reviving them. I checked out tons of books on the types of plants she had and on how to take care of them. My reading was a success and I managed to save every one of her plants. 


Fast forward to my early adult years. My mom took my green thumb back from me and kindly replaced it with her brown thumb! It didn’t matter what type of plant I bought, I killed it. Even the plants that are great for people who kill plants! I went through the years of buying plants and just not having them. 


Finally, my green thumb has returned. Here are some pictures of the plants I have in my office now. 




SippyCupChroniclesFavoriteThingFriday
What is your Favorite Thing Friday? Come link up and share it!

12 Responses

  1. Awesome! I never had a green thumb. I am of the school that if it doesn't whine, cry, scream, or ask to be fed then I completely forget about it. Yes, I have killed bamboo. So no plants in my house, but I sure love looking at other people's amazing ability to keep a plant alive.

  2. Oh, I've killed bamboo and a cactus. My friends and co-workers gave me a hard time about the cactus. I didn't know you could kill them but there ya have it. LOL

  3. I don't know what to call my thumb. It's mostly brown–I can even kill succulents, you know, the kind you almost NEVER WATER and just LEAVE ALONE??!–but I've had one beautiful plant (a big peace lily) since I was 15. I'm 33 now. ๐Ÿ™‚ So that makes me happy. If I ever kill that plant, I will cry forever.

  4. I'd love to be able to have a plant for years! That is way beyond awesome!!! I've never had much luck with peace lilies. I start off great but then my touch seems to disappear.

  5. Gorgeous plants! I love plants…and have a few I have managed not to kill. I used to have that brown thumb too – even managed to kill a cactus once. haha!! But, now I have managed to even revive a few of my own dying plants. So, I guess I must be getting better. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Thank you. It's quite a shocker when you find you have the ability to kill a cactus. LOL

  7. Beautiful plants AND, (might I add) BEAUTIFUL BLOG! I love your layout, font selections and your choice of colors! I have not seen a template like this…did I miss it or is this your design??

  8. Thank you, Cynthia. I wish I was able to create templates but it's a Blogger template. It's under the abstract category, if I remember correctly. I just messed around with the fonts, font colors, and layout yesterday. I'm glad you like it.

  9. wow that looks great! I don't have a green thumb anymore…glad you got yours back ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for participating.

  10. Thank you, Jenny. I enjoy going through my week thinking of all the blessings I have to choose from to post on the Favorite Thing Friday. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. I def don't have a green thumb! I cannot keep fish alive either! My cat is doing all right so far but he cries if I don't feed and water him! LOL

  12. Rachel, if I go into a pet store, the bettas start swimming as fast as they can from me. I have never been able to keep a betta alive for more than 24 hours. And I love them. Cats will let you know when they want something. Lol

Leave a Reply

