Bloggymoms WW Prompt 8-15-11

This is a continuation of a previous prompt from Bloggy Moms. Read  What A Girl Wants to meet Maryanne.

The Thrill of the Chase

Maryanne walked into the lounge with just the right amount of uncertainty as she pretended to search for someone. Her eyes barely lingered over the man who was to be her next wealthy husband. She smiled triumphantly to herself as she caught him glancing in her direction. She looked without focusing at the thin gold watch on her wrist. Pushing her hair behind her ears, a nervous habit she had since childhood, she reversed the direction of her visual scan. Perfect, the navy blue jacket she’d placed on the chair next to her future meal ticket was still there. She knew slipping the bartender a few bucks would help out her cause.

Fixing a disappointed look on her freshly altered face, she walked towards the vacant chair and stopped. She scanned the room again. She could smell his cologne as she slightly turned her back to him. She pretended to be watching the entryway. Rich, extremely  rich, the scent of his cologne promised. She sighed softly, glanced at her watch again. She started to grab the chair with the jacket. She jumped as if the jacket had burned her.

“Oh, I’m sorry,” she apologized to the man sitting in the chair next to her jacket. Her gray eyes opened wide with embarrassment. “I didn’t realize you have someone with you. I mean, I didn’t realize this seat is taken.” She smiled humbly before turning and pretending to leave.

“That’s quite alright. I’m not sure who belongs with the jacket. It was placed here when I arrived.” His voice held a deep baritone quality with an ease of confidence. “Are you meeting someone?” he continued when Maryanne turned to face him. She felt a moment of betrayal from herself as she thought how nice his smile was. A rare, genuine smile that reached his hazel eyes, with faint visible laugh lines.

Maryanne’s hand fluttered to her face. She managed to blush slightly.

“I think I may have been stood up. How embarrassing. I’m new in town and I really don’t know anyone. I thought I might have my first friend,” she trailed off; a hint of sadness in her voice.

“Well, maybe he’s just running late. The traffic at this hour can be quite heavy,” the baritone voice reassured her.

Maryanne smiled in appreciation for his understanding. “Maybe, but I’ve been waiting outside for almost half an hour. I don’t believe she is showing up. I can’t say I blame her. She’s married with two little girls. It’s hard to form friendships when you’re single and most of the people you meet are married, raising children.”

Maryanne watched as his body language changed towards her when she identified her friend as a female. Again, she smiled triumphantly to herself as she recognized the victory of hooking a new prospect. She knew from her research he had never been married or had children. From what she could gather, he was looking for the same qualities. Qualities she could reinvent about herself.

“In that case, won’t you join me?”

“You don’t mind? I’d be grateful. I’m Maryanne, by the way,” she said, extending her hand.

“I’m Richard. Nice to meet you Maryanne.”

Richard signaled to the bartender who all but tripped over his two feet to find out what Richard wanted. As Richard handed the jacket over to the bartender, Maryanne caught the quizzical look and confusion from the bartender. The bartender kept his mouth shut as he placed the jacket in the box of misplaced items. He caught the threat behind Maryanne’s eyes as she softly thanked him for the drink he placed in front of her. Pushing her hair behind her ears, she turned towards Richard. A line from an old song ran through her mind as she feigned interest in Richard’s words.

It’s not the kill, it’s the thrill of the chase.


2 Responses

  1. ohhhhhhhhhhhhh that Maryanne! She is wicked!! I love it. I want more, more more Maryanne!!

  2. I'm working on it. Lol… thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

