I’m Going to be Collaborating on a Book

Jeannie was suppose to pick me up this morning. I slept later than I intended and when I woke up, I rushed to get ready. I did the constant back and forth, looking out the window, rotate to the front door as I was applying my natural good looks doing my make-up. Almost 45 minutes after she was suppose to be there, I got in touch with her. Why did I think she was going to be on time? It dawned on me Jeannie probably forgot about me. Yep, she did. Gotta love my Jeannie.


We get into the office and I go to my blog to share my latest Bloggy Moms prompt with her. I usually don’t have Jeannie read my blog because she whines   gets easily distracted and has a hard time focusing. (uh huh but she’ll read a book every night before she goes to sleep. I’m onto her.) She does her typical I-have-to-read-all-that speech. I respond with my typical do-as-I-say-mother-tone. She gets about half way through and pipes up with:


 “You didn’t write that.” 

“Yes I did!”


“No you didn’t. That’s too good.”


Say whhaaaatttt, Becky?? 



It took a couple of minutes but I finally convinced her I did write what she was reading. After we bantered back and forth, I started laughing. Jeannie can crack me up with what she says but it’s more how she says it. 


You see, I have always loved to write but I very rarely share what I write. I’ll let my daughter read things to get her feedback. One time I did read something to a friend but other than that, I have kept my writing to myself. I have Stephanie at The Scoop on Poop   to thank for starting up the weekly prompts at Bloggy Moms again. Doing the weekly prompts has helped me to step out of my comfort zone and put myself out there. 


Once Jeannie realized I was serious about writing what she read, she admitted she’s always wanted to write a book but has a hard time transferring her words from her mind to paper. She shared with me she  wants to write a book about her oldest daughter’s murder. I had thought about the very same thing a few years ago but wasn’t sure how she would feel about it. We’ve decided  we are going to work on a book together about her daughter. 


I’m honored she is willing to share that with me and I’m glad I took the chance to get her reaction to something I wrote. 


I believe things happen for a reason. If I hadn’t started doing the writing prompts, I would have probably never  shared my writing with Jeannie. I would not have known she wanted to write a book about her daughter. 


The lesson I took from this today is: sometimes stepping out of your comfort zone can lead to other things you might not dream possible. 

Have you tested your comfort zone lately? 

7 Responses

  1. That is amazing. A tragic topic to write about, but still, what an opportunity, for both of you.

  2. Thank you for the encouraging words, Anonymous.

  3. Jo, it is a tragic topic. I know it will be hard but I think healing at the same time for Jeannie.

  4. Hello!I started following you from the Finding New Friends Weekend Blog Hop – Week 21! I am a part of the blog hop. :)I'm following your site, Google Friend Connect, Facebook, Twitter, Networked Blogs, etc. if applicable!Have a great weekend!-Courtney P.http://couponingcourtney.blogspot.com

  5. Hi Courtney! Looks like we were both doing the same thing with FFNF. Thanks for stopping by and following.

  6. Hi,I stopped by from Anita's re: the blog hop. Looking forward to getting to know you. Hope you'll stop by and say hi & follow me.Pat

  7. Hi Pat! Thank you for stopping by. I'm on my way to see ya. 🙂

Leave a Reply

