How Important You Think Education Is

Day 20: How Important You Think Education Is

I remember when I was in 3rd grade, I had a good sized chalkboard. I spent hours playing school. I lost myself in the world of teaching with homework sheets, books for my “students” to read; everything I experienced as a student. Of course, the only actual student in my classroom was my poor childhood pet, Blacky. He spent countless hours learning and “writing” on the chalkboard.

I remember my parents telling me how important it was for me to go to college. You see, if I went to college, I was guaranteed to have a good paying job and job security. So there was never a doubt in my mind I would go to college after I graduated high school.

I wasn’t the best student in the world. Things took a downward turn for me when I hit the middle school years but I managed to coast through. I got through high school despite my little mental rebellion that I wanted to drop out. 

Soon after graduating, I became pregnant with my son. I opted to go to night college to continue my education. I have been to college three different times, completing each degree program.

I have stressed the importance of education not only to my children, but I have encouraged friends and even strangers, to further their education. Times are different than when I was a child in the sense of having an education equals guaranteed job. 

Despite the changes from when I was a child, I still think and believe education is important. It took me awhile to understand what people meant when they said, “No one can take it away from you.” 

So, if you’re reading this, and you’ve thought about going back to school but haven’t for whatever reasons, I really encourage you to do so. 

My education has brought new friends into my life, opened up doors previously closed, and given me the courage to pursue dreams and goals.

How important is education to you? Do you want to further your education?
One Response

  1. Blacky was taught in English, of course. 🙂

Leave a Reply

