Color Me Odd

Last night, as I was taking my shower, I felt the old familiar angst of what happens after I turn the water off. It struck me as odd when I started thinking about it. 
I can’t stand the way it feels when I dry myself off with a towel. I shudder to think about it. I prefer to wrap the towel around me until I’m dry. I saw a movie once where the characters had a body dryer in their luxurious bathroom. 
That’s going on my Christmas list.

Then I started thinking about other things that make shudder.


Loose teeth in kids. I’m not the grown up kids can run to in their excitement and show me their wiggly tooth. I grimace. I do weird spasms with my arms and face. I squeeze my eyes shut. I shake my head in bionic speed to erase the image from my mind. I HATED losing my teeth as a child. UGH! What a horrible feeling, my tooth still hanging on to my gum. My dad would offer to yank it out for me.
 My response was to yell no and run from the room.

The feel of putting lotion on my legs. I don’t care if they are clean shaven or if my winter coat is at its best. I can’t stand the friction of my hand against the skin.
 It doesn’t really bother me to put lotion on my arms though.


People blowing their noses around me. Oh help me when I hear that sound. AND help the person in the restaurant who does this. My head spins. A demons face replaces mine. It’s not pretty. I lose my ability to maintain my social graces. I verbally announce, loudly, to the offender that is what a restroom is for.
 Oh no, I do not like that sound. I hate the sound of blowing my nose.

Have you ever heard someone grind their teeth when they sleep? That sound makes my skeleton come running out of my skin.
 I would rather hear nails going down a chalkboard.


Yeah, so color me odd 
but those are some of the things that cause me to become a shape shifter!

What are some of your shape shifter triggers?
17 Responses

  1. I'm the same way about hearing someone grind their teeth. In the future, I'll be able to laugh when I hear it by picturing the running skeleton in my mind. πŸ™‚

  2. Ha! It does kinda look like a skeleton from Scooby Doo!

  3. You know how I feel about people blowing their noses around me, child. I have an instant panic attack. Same with people coughing. But worst of all is sneezing. If someone sneezes around me I freak out inside.

  4. My four year old grinds her teeth sometimes, and I can't stand it! Mostly I wonder what's happening to her sweet little baby teeth. 😦

  5. Oh yeah, I know about how far the sneezing can fly!!!!

  6. Oh, grinding baby teeth. I'd worry, too.

  7. Hi, I can relate to one of your shape shifter triggers. I cannot handle the friction of my hands on my legs with hair, and I am pretty hairy all over my body, but no where does it bother me as much as on my legs. I hate feeling of my hand going over the hair on my legs.And then I agree with Jo about sneezing. Have you ever smelt the odor of when someone sneezed. I hate that smell, so when I see ppl sneeze in a shopping mall, I walk circles around that spot, and I keep my breath until I am well past it. I think sneezing and couching are the main spreaders of diseases when you are out and about in public.Good post, actually reminded me of some of my belly aching. And I have far too many to mention here. :)Take care.Colin.

  8. Lol, Colin. I actually envision the spray of the sneeze! I do the whole can't walk through that cloud of germs hanging in the air thing, too. Thanks for stopping by.

  9. I identify with so many of these!!! Plus, I can't stand loose teeth… completely makes my skin crawl.

  10. My 6-year-old grinds his teeth and has for about 3 years. It is so loud! I don't know how it doesn't wake him up or how his jaw/teeth don't hurt in the morning.

  11. Oh Jennifer, I am so right there with you on that feeling!

  12. I would think it does hurt his jaw. 😦 I know I clench my teeth some nights.

  13. I love the funny pics:) I am a dental assistant and I can't stand wiggly kids teeth either? Its fun to know others have their quirks! Have a great day!

  14. Loressa, I'm in good company then since you deal with teeth! Thanks for stopping by.

  15. Grinding teeth, snoring…I have allergies and cough – you should see the looks! I hate it when they tease, "Are you going to be alright?" "Do you have a hairball."I know its annoying. I wouldn't do it if I could help it! Please don't demon glare me πŸ™‚

  16. Just gave you an award. Check it out on my blog.

  17. Lora, a friend of mine literally sounds like a seal when she coughs. Of course, it's due to smoking but it sounds painful to cough that deep.I will make you exempt from the demon glare. :)Thank you for the award. Headed over now.

Leave a Reply

