Would You Boycott Girl Scout Cookies?

I came across this video yesterday from my Facebook feed.

After watching the video and reading the article, I went back to see what some of the comments were. The majority of the comments were NOT in favor of boycotting the sales of  Girl Scout cookies. 


Personally, I don’t have issues with Transgender people. In fact, I think it takes courage to be “different”, especially with a subject so controversial. 

Where I live at, there is a MTF transgender who would often eat at the place I worked at and at my daughter’s job.  My heart went out to her because other customer’s were openly rude and loud about her being “different.” I don’t know if she is in the process of getting her operation but she is living her life as a woman. Is it apparent she is MTF? Yes, you can tell. Did it make it right for people to be so rude and critical? No, it doesn’t. Who is she hurting? How is she impacting the lives of strangers? She’s not. 

I understand some people will be upset about a 7 year old MTF child joining GS and what sleeping arrangements would be on a camp out. I get that. Obviously, a child so young can’t have an operation to complete the final step. So make accommodations. If an adult male goes on the camp out, accommodations are made for him. But to ban the sale of GS cookies because a MTF child has supportive and understanding parents and the GS isn’t discriminating? No, I don’t think so. 
What are your thoughts on the matter?
4 Responses

  1. i boycott both boy and girl scouts becuz i don't like celebrating sin. while we are all sinners we shouldn't make money from that or be exalted for it. just my 2 cents.

  2. Thank you for stopping by and sharing your thoughts. 🙂

  3. Chelle, thanks so much for this post, for sharing your perspective, and for speaking up about your personal experiences. I do a lot of volunteering with girl scouts and I am proud to be part of such an inclusive organization. The media and bloggers seem to delight in stories about girl scout cookie boycotts. Perhaps they feel guilty that they can't buy a box every time they are asked. But a thumbs up to the girls or a dollar to send cookies to the troops overseas are all that is required. These are our youngest business women, selling a beloved American-made product, to raise funds to support their own activities and for local camps and programs for girls. The official mission of Girl Scouts is to develop girls of courage, confidence, and character who make the world a better place. And to support them, all we have to do it buy and eat cookies!

  4. I was a girl scout and my daughter was also one. It was something I enjoyed as a young girl.I'm thinking the young girl in the video probably increased the sales for cookies this year. When you talk to people about GS cookies, everyone immediately pipes up about which one is their favorite. Lol.Thank you for stopping by and being supportive to our young girls.

Leave a Reply

