RIP Whitney

I’m a big fan of Ozzy Osborne. Have been for years; since I was about 17 to be exact. The first time I saw the Osborne’s show, I thought it was some kind of comedy but to my amazement, I found out later it wasn’t. Through watching the show, I came to like Sharon, as well. She’s a little spitfire, to say the least. So it’s no surprise that I have liked Sharon Osborne’s page on Facebook.

My daughter is the one who told me Whitney Houston died. I don’t know why, but I was really shocked to find this out. I’ve looked around a bit to see what happened and at the time of writing this, I still don’t know. My daughter heard she’d drowned in her bath tub after taking pills but we’re not sure if that’s the real story.

Later, when I went on to Facebook, this was at the top of my feed: 

Sharon Osbourne‘s status.
“Amy Winehouse, Michael Jackson and now Whitney Houston. We’re all just hypocrites because we are all guilty of mocking them and being cruel
while they were alive and it always takes for them to die before we shower them with praise and adulation. They were addicts and there are many addicts still alive. Don’t mock them, just help them.”


When I read Sharon’s status, it really did make me take a step back and think about the various artists we have lost over the years to addiction. 


I’d never heard of Amy Winehouse until her “Rehab” song and even then, I wasn’t aware of her struggle with addiction at the time I looked her up. However, as her addiction became more publicized, I  always hoped she’d find a way to beat her addiction. 


Michael Jackson, of course I’ve heard about since my childhood, but I wasn’t aware of his struggle with addiction. Although, looking back, it would make sense considering his life as a pop sensation and the constant accusations of being a child molester.


Whitney Houston’s addiction was something I was aware of. I’d seen the pictures of her when she was beyond thin or the clips where she was apparently on something, trying to perform. I always felt a sense of sadness for her. For all of the artists who struggle with their addiction, scrutinized in the public eye.


I think Sharon made an excellent point in her post. The public is quick to snatch up the dirt on famous people when they’re facing trying times in their lives. 


It brings to mind all of the people who suffer from addictions, who aren’t thrust into the spotlight. Most of us know someone who is addicted to alcohol or drugs. It is a sad and painful road for addicts as well as the people who love and care about them. So why do we add on to the burden of someone’s addiction because they’re famous? Why aren’t we more supportive and less judgmental?

Whatever Whitney’s demons were, she struggled. She left behind a beautiful daughter, loving fans, and a family who will miss her dearly.

RIP Whitney.

RIP in peace to all of our loved ones and friends, who have struggled against their addictions. 
2 Responses

  1. Hello Chelle, the death of Whitney Houston is so sad and tragic. I grew up with her music. Prescription drugs are dangerous, and given away too freely. It is awful that Whitney's life had to end this way.Rest In Peace Whitney.Michelle

  2. So true, Michelle. It's not just the street drugs.

Leave a Reply

