Tammy Faye Baker

The first time I saw Tammy Faye Baker on tv, I was a teen. It was a late Saturday night and I wasn’t ready to go to bed. During those years, cable didn’t extend out to our neck of the woods so we watched what 3 channels came in. I was a little surprised to see Saturday Night Live aka SNL on again but quite content to have something to watch. I settled on the couch and kept staring at Tammy Faye Baker. 


Tammy is known by her trademark heavy make-up as well as the heavily mascaraed eyes. I thought, “She must be a new SNL character. I don’t remember seeing this character before.” Then Tammy began to sing. Huh? 


This was turning out to be quite a long skit, even for SNL. Finally, the show went to commercial. I was a little disappointed. I mean, sure, the heavy make-up was amusing but where was the funny stuff?


Commercials are over and I realize it’s not SNL, it’s PTL. 


Oh.


That was my introduction to the famous Tammy Faye Baker.


The other day as I was looking through Netflix documentaries, one came up about Tammy Faye. Hmmm, why not? I’m glad I watched it. I think so often we get to “know” famous people by what’s reported in the news, magazines or tabloids. Now, I realize  we’re not getting 100% of the truth and the crazier the headline, the better the sales. 


By the time I’d finished watching the documentary on Tammy Faye, I was pleasantly surprised. Did you know she was the eldest of 8 children? That puppets were used in the earlier shows she and Jim had? 

Can you imagine the strength she must have had to endure the attacks on her appearance, her choice in make-up, the scandal of PTL, and the scrutiny of her second marriage? Add to that, her battle against cancer, which she lost. 


So often, we look at the outside of a person’s life. We listen to the words, whether they hold a kernel of truth or not, and base our judgments on what we hear. I often say, there are three sides to the story: each person’s perception and then the events which don’t hold any perception.


I’m glad I decided to watch the documentary on Tammy Faye. She was pretty amazing, kooky, funny, and a stickler about her eye lashes. Tammy Faye went to a photo shoot with a popular photographer. I couldn’t help but laugh when the make-up artist said normally people come to the photo shoot with no make up. Not Tammy. She was fully made up! And argued about toning down her eye lashes. In the end, she did tone down the eye lashes and the result of her make over was pretty impressive. 


I’m glad I took the time to watch the documentary on Tammy Faye, to see a different side of who she was from what was normally was portrayed like in the media.

Anyone watch or read something 
about a celebrity which surprised you?
6 Responses

  1. Stopping by from the Exposure 99% weekday hop! http://queenofsavings.com

  2. Thanks for stopping by, Justine. 🙂

  3. I don’t know why, but I’ve always loved Tammy Faye. I found her to be a genuine person who wore a mask. I sent her an email after seeing the movie, and she had sent me back a thank you. Thanks for posting this – I think it’s time to see the documentary again!

  4. I think you hit it right on the head when you said ‘a genuine person who wore a mask.’ I realized in watching the documentary how much pain she hid from the world. Thank you so much for stopping in. 🙂

    • I NEVER CARED MUCH FOR TAMMY FAYE BAKER. HER MAKEUP WAS A BIT TOO MUCH FOR ME. PERHAPS I SIMPLEY DID NOT UNDERSTAND HER. BUT IT TRULY SADDENS ME TO KNOW THAT SHE HAD CANCER AND SUBSIQUENTLY LOST THAT BATTLE. I CAN ONLY HOPE SHE WENT TO BE WITH OUR SAVIOUR AND LORD.

      • I was surprised by the things I learned about Tammy Faye Baker. Which is what led me to share what I learned about her so others could learn she was more than just the woman who wore a lot of make up. Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

