My Other Job As A Judge

I think, as God was going down His list of creating moi, when He came to the column marked: Singing, He used that opportunity to show God does have a sense of humor.

I adore singing. I am a beast when it comes to not learning the words right, having no clue that you’re suppose to stay in tune, and have this amazing ability to want to belt out the songs that are nowhere near my, uh-hem, voice range.

I give the most amazing performances in my house. I do not, I repeat, do not get deterred as the neighborhood dogs gather in my front yard howling during my free concerts. I can ignore them and my own four-legged grand-dogs.

I told ya, I’m the beast!

The only time I’ve ever watched American Idol is when Sanjaya Malakar was a contestant. That was because of the snippets I heard about him not really having talent and his crazy hair styles. I watched two shows with him and that’s it.  I loved him! He was so adorable, hopeful, and  doing his thing.

On the other hand, I will spend hours watching various auditions for hopeful singers on YouTube. I get into my judge mode, I make my calls before they open their mouths and a lot of times, I’m just as blown away as the real judges.

I tend to gravitate towards the singers who have been through hard times and are sometimes placing their last shred of hope in the hands of strangers. I love a happy ending. Kevin Skinner comes across as a good ol’ country boy but wow when he starts singing. I bawl every time I watch Lascel Wood’s video. Luke Lucas cracks me up in his  youthful crush. Matt Cardle did make it through after his audition. I watched another video and he is amazing. Little Anna Graceman gave me chills as she performed! Only 11 years old at the time!!!!!! Katie Smith is cute as a button and has an awesome voice. I love the jaw dropping moment when Greg Pritchard opens his mouth! You never know what talent will come out of the unique package presented on stage!

I’m sharing a few of my faves I’ve come across during my unofficial status as a judge. I have been inspired to practice for the next concert. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

